WINSENT - Wind Science and Engineering in Complex Terrain


Project Support

 

WINSENT is funded by Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. (Funding code: 0324129A-F). The administrative work is done by Projektträger Jülich.

 


Motivation and Objectives

 The operation of wind turbines (WT) in mountainous regions is investigated in the WindForS research project "WINSENT". For this, two WTs are going to be set up at Stöttener Berg near Geislingen an der Steige and equipped with the corresponding measuring equipment. One goal of the project is the evaluation of the loads on each component, especially in relation to the mountainous terrain. Therefore the loads are measured during operation.

At the same time a virtual process chain is going to be established, with which those loads can be determined in advance and be used for the design of the WT in mountainous terrain. Up to now, this was done with engineering models that are based on different simplifications. These models will be reevaluated to assess their suitability for WTs in mountainous regions. Furthermore the usage of new materials, new manufacturing processes and complex structures leaves some open questions for the modeling. Due to this large safety factors have to be applied when these engineering models are used, which contradicts with an efficient and inexpenisve design and hence hinders the operation of WTs in mountainous regions.

A very detailed model and simulation will be conducted within WINSENT to evaluate the influence of several factors like the complex flow situation in detail. The developed methods will be validated with the measured results of the WT. Moreover a comparison with the engineering models will be done to determine and document the differences.

The task of the Chair of Structural Analysis (TUM) within the research project is the numerical simulation of the structure of the WT including the effects stemming from wind-structure interaction. The loads will be directly calculated from the coupled fluid-structure interaction simulation. The structural model will be modeled very detailed.

Link to 1.press release

Link to 2.press release

 


Project Partners


Contact Person

If you have any questions or suggestions please contact:

WINSENT - Wind Science and Engineering in Complex Terrain


Projektförderung

 

WINSENT wird vom Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie (FKZ 0324129A-F) gefördert. Die organisatorische Abwicklung erfolgt durch den Projektträger Jülich.


Motivation und Zielsetzung

Im Rahmen des WindForS Forschungsvorhabens „WINSENT“ soll der Betrieb von Windenergieanlagen (WEA) in bergigem Terrain untersucht werden. Dazu werden zwei WEAs am Stöttener Berg bei Geislingen an der Steige aufgebaut und mit entsprechender Messtechnik ausgestattet. Ein Ziel des Projekts ist die Bestimmung der Belastung der einzelnen Komponenten, speziell in Bezug auf das bergige Terrain. Dazu werden die Belastungen direkt im Betrieb gemessen.

Gleichzeitig soll eine virtuelle Prozesskette aufgestellt werden, bei der diese Belastungen schon im Vorfeld ermittelt werden und damit zur Planung und Auslegung von WEA in bergigem Terrain herangezogen werden können. Zu diesem Zweck werden bisher Ingenieurmodellen eingesetzt, die mit verschiedenen Vereinfachungen arbeiten. Die Eignung dieser Ingenieurmodelle für den Entwurf von WEA in bergigem Terrain ist wegen der komplexen Anströmverhältnisse neu zu bewerten. Desweiteren führt der Einsatz neuer Werkstoffe, neuer Fertigungstechnologien und komplexerer Strukturen zu neuen Fragestellungen im Rahmen der Modellierung. Aus diesem Grund muss beim Einsatz solcher Ingenieurmodelle mit hohen Sicherheitsfaktoren gearbeitet werden, was einer effizienten und kostengünstigen Auslegung entgegensteht und so den Ausbau von Windenergie in bergigem Terrain erschwert.

Im Rahmen von WINSENT soll daher eine sehr detaillierte Modellierung und Simulation der WEA erfolgen, um den Einfluss verschiedener Faktoren wie etwa die komplexe Anströmungssituation genau untersuchen zu  können. Die erarbeiteten Methoden werden mit Hilfe der Messergebnisse der WEA validiert. Weiterhin wird ein Vergleich mit den Ingenieurmodellen durchgeführt, die Unterschiede herausgearbeitet und dokumentiert.

Die Aufgabe des Lehrstuhls für Statik (TUM) im Forschungsvorhaben ist die numerische Simulation der Struktur der WEA unter Berücksichtigung von Wind-Struktur-Wechselwirkungseffekten. Die Belastungen werden dabei direkt aus der Umströmung durch gekoppelte Simulation der Fluid-Struktur-Interaktion berechnet. Der Aufbau des Strukturmodells wird dabei mit hohem Detaillierungsgrad erfolgen.

Link zur 1. Pressemitteilung

Link zur 2. Pressemitteilung


Projektpartner


Ansprechpartner

Bei Fragen und Anregungen wenden Sie sich bitte an: