Welcome to BGUmentoring!

Launched as a pilot project in April 2011, our mentoring program for international exchange students has evolved into an integral part of our Civil, Geo and Environmental Engineering Faculty. BGUmentoring is by students for students!

We provide visiting foreign students with a mentor as a form of personal support during their stay. The mentor is a student in our faculty who serves as a specific contact person for the exchange student. In this capacity, he or she also answers questions relating to studies and student life and even provides tips on what to do in your free time. The mentor program is only there to supplement the existing guidance opportunities offered by TUMinternational and our foreign student advisors, and should not be construed as full-time support.

Of course, mentors also benefit from the mentoring program. For instance, it is an opportunity to improve your language skills before studying abroad and provides a chance to establish helpful contacts. In addition to that, you learn how to deal with foreign cultures and collect intercultural competence.

At the start of the semester you have the opportunity to meet your mentor or mentee during a get-together. We also offer regular excursions, outings and other activities, for instance, a city trip or a brewery tour, hiking in the Alps, etc.

Updated program for excursions in the winter term 2019/20

Program

Are you planning to study abroad soon or did you just return from studying abroad? Would you like to improve your German language skills or just meet some nice fellow students at TUM? Then sign up to be a mentor or mentee at BGUmentoring!

-> Registration form

 

Contact: bgumentoring@tum.de

Herzlich Willkommen bei BGUmentoring!

Eingeführt als Pilotprojekt im April 2011 hat sich das Mentoring-Programm für internationale Austauschstudierende zu einem festen Bestandteil der Ingenieurfakultät Bau Geo Umwelt entwickelt. BGUmentoring ist von Studenten für Studenten!

Wir bieten unseren Gaststudierenden während ihres Aufenthalts die persönliche Betreuung durch einen Mentor an. Der Mentor ist ein Student der Fakultät, der als konkreter Ansprechpartner für den Austauschstudierenden gedacht ist. Er hilft bei Fragen rund ums Studium und dem Studentenleben und gibt Freizeittipps. Das Mentoring ist als eine Ergänzung zu den bestehenden Beratungsangeboten von TUMinternational und unserer Auslandsbeauftragten zu verstehen, aber keinesfalls als eine Vollzeitbetreuung.

Natürlich bringt das Mentoring auch Vorteile für den Mentor mit sich. Du kannst zum Beispiel deine Sprachkenntnisse vor deinem eigenen Auslandsaufenthalt verbessern und bereits hilfreiche Kontakte knüpfen. Außerdem lernst du den Umgang mit fremden Kulturen und sammelst interkulturelle Kompetenz.

Bereits zu Vorlesungsbeginn gibt es die Möglichkeit, deinen Mentor bzw. Mentee bei einem „Get-Together“ kennenzulernen. Außerdem bieten wir regelmäßig Ausflüge und Unternehmungen an, zum Beispiel einen Städtetrip, eine Wanderung in den Alpen, eine Brauereiführung usw.

Aktuelles Ausflugsprogramm für das Sommersemester 2019

Ausflugsprogramm

Du planst einen Auslandsaufenthalt oder bist gerade aus dem Ausland zurück?
Du möchtest deine Deutschkenntnisse verbessern oder einfach nette Leute an der TUM kennenlernen?
Dann werde jetzt Mentor bzw. Mentee bei BGU
mentoring!

-> Anmeldung


Kontakt: bgumentoring@tum.de